January 27, 2009

Honourable John Conyers Jr., Chairperson Honourable Lamar Smith, Ranking Member The U.S. House of Representatives The Committee on the Judiciary 2138 Rayburn House Office Building, Washington, DC. 20515 USA

Dear Honourable John Conyers Jr. and Honourable Lamar Smith,

On behalf of the National Association of Japanese Canadians (NAJC), we write to express our strong support of the HR42/S69 "Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment of Latin Americans of Japanese Descent Act".

The NAJC was formed in the 1940's, at the end of WWII, to seek fairness and justice for Japanese Canadians who had been denied their civil liberties. As part of our mission statement, we "strive for equal rights and liberties for all people, particularly racial and ethnic minorities". We strongly urge you and every member of your Committee to support this bill and work towards passing this bill in the Congress. This bill would provide the opportunity for a formal investigation to the relocation, internment and deportation of Japanese Latin Americans by the Government of the USA, at the time of WWII.

Twenty-one years after the American and Canadian Governments in 1988 redressed the wrongs inflicted upon Japanese Americans and Japanese Canadians during WWII, there is still no satisfactory justice for the Japanese Latin Americans who suffered uprooting and internment by the American Government. Time is passing for many of these Japanese Latin Americans. The NAJC adds our voice to the many individuals, groups and organizations who uphold the principles of human rights and social justice and who are seeking appropriate remedies for the issues related to the WWII internment of the Japanese Latin Americans.

The HR42/S69 is an important and right step in bringing this painful chapter in the history of your country to a close. We believe this bill deserves your support as an important civil and human rights measure. We urge you to work for its enactment.

Respectfully,

Terumi Kuwada President CC: Hon. Howard L. Berman

Hon. F. James Sensenbrenner Jr.

Hon. Rick Boucher

Hon. Howard Coble

Hon. Jerrold Nadler

Hon. Elton Gallegly

Hon. Bobby Scott

Hon. Bob Goodlatte

Hon. Mel Watt

Hon. Dan Lungren

Hon. Zoe Lofgren

Hon. Darrell Issa

Hon. Sheila Jackson Lee

Hon. J. Randy Forbes

Hon. Maxine Waters

Hon. Steve King

Hon. Bill Delahunt

Hon. Trent Franks

Hon. Robert Wexler

Hon. Louie Gohmert

Hon. Steve Cohen

Hon. Jim Jordan

Hon. Hank Johnson

Hon. Ted Poe

Hon. Pedro Pierluisi

Hon. Jason Chaffetz

Hon. Luis Gutierrez

Hon. Tom Rooney

Hon. Brad Sherman

Hon. Gregg Harper

Hon. Tammy Baldwin

Hon. Charles A. Gonzalez

Hon. Anthony Weiner

Hon. Adam Schiff

Hon. Linda Sánchez

Hon. Debbie Wasserman Schultz

Hon. Dan Maffei